ARTICLE ABOUT "RICHARD CASTLE - Lionheart"
Castle of Richard the Lionheart - thatis the name kievans gave toquirky home on Andreew Descent, which was built in the English Gothic style in the early twentieth century. It got its name in honor of the brave and valiant King Richard - one of the heroes of the famous novel by W. Scott "Ivanhoe".
The castle was built during the years 1902-1904 on order of Dmitry Orlov, who wanted to turn the building into lucrative treasury, intending to lease an apartment in it. But in 1911 Orlov was shot - and his widowed wife sold the house at auction to pay off huge debts. The new owner decided to implement Orlov`splan, but people refused to rent a house – theywereterrified byrumors of terrible wailing and moaning that rang in the walls of large buildings. Nobody wanted to deal with ghosts, so the house at the time was forgoten. But then it turned out that the reason ofthe amazing sounds was inspecific ventilation system and heating stove.
Later, the house became a shelter for many Kiev artists. At various times, there were workshopsofJohn Makushenko, Photius Krasitskaya, G. Dyachenko, etc. .. The owners of the house are constantly changing. The establishment of Soviet power led grand apartments to beingconverted into crowded commune. After the collapse of the Soviet Union many foreign investors wanted to turn the house into a hotel, but circumstances prevented this.
The house is built in the form of an old castle on a hilltop Uzdyhalnitsa,fanned withlegends. It impresses with its monumental facade, decorated with plexus quirky architectural elements fortress and castle structures (spiers, towers, battlements). Left side of the house is completedwith ahigh tower with bright fortress features.
Castle of Richard the Lionheart attracts not only lovers of legends and fansofancient times, known for their brave and courageous heroes, but connoisseurs of beauty architecture. In addition, the mountain Uzdyhalnitsa pleaseseyes with amazing views, able to impress not only the guests, but also indigenous kievan. To view the layout of the house, onecanvisitthe Museum of One Street. In the same museum there is a lot of photos ofthe building, as well as numerous exhibits related to the active artistic activity of several owners.