FROM THE CYCLE EXCURSIONS IN KIEV
THE ARTICLE "VYDUBITSKY MONASTERY"
Vydubitsky Monastery is a Monastery, placed at the bank of the Dnieper, in Vidubichi. The name of the land is associated with the legend of pagan god Perun, dumped into the river by Prince Vladimir that emerged ("vydybav") on shore here. But there is another version, according to which the tract derives its name from the crossing that existed in the ancient site of the present monastery. Used for ferrying boats called "oaks", made from oak barrels. Perhaps a Vidubichi name was given by ancient underground monastery, which later was able to "vydybaty" on the surface.
Vydubitsky monastery was founded in the tenth century by son of Yaroslav the Wise, Prince of Kiev Vsevolod. St. Michael, which became the main church of the monastery, was laid in 1070, it looked like a cross-domed church that had three altars. To protect the church from landslides in 1199 it was built reinforced retaining wall, the construction of which was led by the architect Peter Mylonyeh. The monastery served as not only a spiritual center, but the center of social life, because on its territory were negotiating princes, worked chronists. Unfortunately, there were also not without damages and natural disasters. In the church more than once a fire broke out, part of the monastic buildings were destroyed by Tartar troops. In the sixteenth century a shift caused the fall into the river St. Michael's Cathedral, the site of which was subsequently built into a new church in the Cossack Baroque style. In 1664, when the abbot was St. Theodosius monastic life resumed, there was a chorus and a small hermitage retreat for monks.
Twentieth century was marked by the restoration of the monastery. Restoration work occurred in 1981-1985. Today the monastery operates a shelter for elderly priests, hospital, later reorganized into Vydubitsky rehabilitation center, a school for children from poor families and orphans, school and church music workshops (painting, carpentry, tailoring and Roofing ).
The architectural complex of the monastery is surrounded by hills on which grow relict plants of the National Botanic Gardens. On the west side one can enjoy fantastic views of the Dnieper. The most important monuments of the ensemble include Michael's Cathedral, built in the eleventh century. (Western part of the building is almost completely preserved), George Church (the dominant element in the composition of the monastery), the bell tower of the church of St.. Prophet Daniel (1722-1733 years), Holy Transfiguration Church (1696-1701), the chapel of St. Michael's Church (the middle of the seventeenth century.), Deanery ('70 XVIII.) and fraternal body (1845-1851 years) .
by Ostap Ukrainetz