(044) 383 32 78 (067) 005 99 55 (066) 054 12 16

General info about Australia



   Official title - Australia (Australia). According to the government from January 1976 overseas country called Australia, the government - Australian, the country called Australia and the Government of the Union.

Political System - Australia is part of the British Commonwealth. Head of State - Queen of Great Britain, represented by Governor-General. Head of Government - Prime Minister. Legislature - bicameral parliament (House of Representatives and Senate).

Geographical Location - Australia is the Australian mainland, the island of Tasmania, and several other small islands in the Pacific and Indian oceans. From the north, surrounded by Timorskym and Arafura Sea and Torres Strait, the east - Coral and Tasman Sea, the South - Bass Strait and the Indian Ocean in the west - the Indian Ocean. Of Australia are also Shawn and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Heard, McDonald and Norfolk.

Area - total area of Australia is 7 686 850 April. km (6 in the world); area of the continent - 7 614 500 April. km.

Provinces. Australia - Federation within 6 states and 2 territories (Northern Territory and Australian Capital Territory).

Population - 19.358 million people (July 2001).

Capital - Canberra (Canberra) - 315,4 thousand inhabitants.

Other major cities: Sydney (4.21 million inhabitants), Melbourne (3.37 million) and Brisbane (1.54 million), Perth (1.36 million), Adelaide (1.07 million).

Official language - English.

Religion: Roman Catholic - 26% anhlikany - 26% Protestant - 20% (United Church, Union Baptist, Lutheran Church and the Church of Christ), the Orthodox - 4%, Jews, Buddhists, Muslims.

National Day - 26 January - Australia Day (1788).
State flag. The national flag of Australia blue. In the upper left corner of the flag placed Britain - a symbol of belonging to the Commonwealth of Australia and the British Commonwealth of Nations. Blue flag - a symbol of the ocean that surrounds all sides of Australia. In the middle of the flag are images of Southern Cross. 6 stars on the flag represent the six states of Australia. Seven Rays stars mean six states and the territory of Papua. The five-pointed star symbolizes the Federal District Canberra. Flag adopted in 1954.

State emblem depicted as a shield, which is supported on both sides of kangaroo and ostrich , surrounded by flowering branches of eucalyptus. The shield is divided into 6 parts, each of which contains the emblem of the state. The top of the emblem is placed septangular star six rays which are the 6 states, and the seventh - symbolizes the Federal District Canberra. Coat in present form has existed since 1912.

 National anthem was announced as the national on the basis of public opinion. In 1974, Australian Bureau of Statistics conducted the survey, which was attended by more than 60 thousand Australians. And April 19, 1984 the Governor General of Australia announced the official status of the anthem.

      Australians all let us rejoice,
For we are young and free;
We've golden soil and wealth for toil;
Our home is girt by sea;
Our land abounds in nature's gifts
Of beauty rich and rare;
In history's page, let every stage
Advance Australia Fair. In joyful strains
then let us sing, Advance Australia Fair.

Beneath our radiant Southern Cross
We'll toil with hearts and hands;
To make this Commonwealth of ours
Renowned of all the lands;
For those who've come across the seas
We've boundless plains to share;
With courage let us all combine
To Advance Australia Fair.
In joyful strains then let us sing, Advance Australia Fair.

Logo Australia (flower) - Gold acacia. She was declared the official national floral emblem in August 1988 Golden Acacia - low creeping shrub or tree that grows in low open forest and woodlands in South Australia, Victoria, New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory.

Currency - Australian dollar = 100 cents.

Membership in international organizations - UN, World Bank, IMF, WTO, APEC, MFChHiChP, OECD and others.

Domain -. Au.