(044) 383 32 78 (067) 005 99 55 (066) 054 12 16

The tract Feofaniya


Feofanija tract stretched near the famous Pirogovo and which from 1471 is referred to as Lazarevschina. According to one of the version the name of the track was given by a monk-beekeeper whose apiaries were at this place in ancient time. Eventually it became to refer to as a farmhouse Lazarivka, and then, in the 17th-18th centuries it mentioned as Sharhavschina. In 1802 Lazarevschina was given under the possession of the Michael's Golden-Domed Monastery. Then the bishop-superior Theofan Shiyanov became to erect a temple in honor of the Archangel Michael. The church was built within a year. In fact, the tract bears his present name since 1803 with the blessing of Metropolitan Gabriel.

The abode has known various times, but anyway, new buildings continued to arise. By the beginning of the 20th century there were built three churches and chapels over sources of holy water. And in 1904 the main temple and secluded monastery that was named in honor of holy martyr Panteleimon began to build by the project of Eugene Ermakov. It was consecrated in 1914, then just a year later Feofaniya became a separate and distinct men's abode.

During the World War II (from 1941), the temple had been under fire. And after the war this church with all abodes was granted to the Academy of Sciences, which converted religious buildings into scientific laboratories.

In 1972 the tract was declared a park-memo. Shattered cathedral building was returned to the church only on May 20, 1990. Reconstruction works began immediately and including renewable sources of holy water, which is considered curative. Since 1992, the tract becomes a park-monument of landscaping arts of a national importance, subordinate to the state preserved farm “Feofaniya” of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.

In 1993 Feofanija becomes a small secluded of Pokrovsky Convent. Panteleymonsky Cathedral was consecrated for the first time on Aug. 30, 1998.  After, in the honor of this event the Annunciation Church was built at the territory of Feofanija.

Only since 2003 Feofanija start to equip with the necessary facilities and becomes a recreation area for citizens with a stone beach, arbors, fountains, cobbled lanes and better water supply. There is doing everything in order to Feofanija opened its expanses for those who wishing to escape from the city and the eternal worries. Nevertheless, in times of peace, from the foundation to this day, the tract considered a sacred place of all those who have been there. The atmosphere that hovers there calms and tunes on the blessed way.

The beauty of the landscape and architecture woven together made this hermitage one of the dearest to hearts of Kievans and city guests place. People come to the source of "Tears of the Mother of God" to draw water from all over of Kiev and not only from the nearby area Teremki (water has a somewhat salt taste). It is breathing easily in the old forest of the tract. The state of appeasement comes to the man's soul here.

In spring flowering gardens give a sense of celebration, reflecting its lush floral dresses in the water of the chain of many lakes. Cascade of waterfalls is a sight for sore eye. It brings a cheerful water songs that interweave with humming of bees in the summer time and it so much reminds the days of Lazarevschina long before the war. The tract that was made for faithful and appeasement brings its own charming through the years - a unique and simple. You want to come back here again and again.

Author Horostovska Natalia (Aranrut)

If you want to see a Tract Feofanija or more unique places in Ukraine, we are happy to assist you. Make sure that Ukraine is truly unique! Call us!


TOP tours
  Excursion in Kiev
Weekend tours
Night life Kiev