FROM THE CYCLE EXCURSIONS IN KIEV
THE ARTICLE "THE ARCHITECTURE OF PECHERSK"
Pechersk district of Kiev, with population of about 100,000 people, is a place with high concentration of various cultural institutions. You can visit the Ukrainian home, visit the Palace of Children and Youth, Cultural Center of the Armed Forces of Ukraine (the so-called house officers), public museums, libraries, palaces and houses of culture, cinemas, theaters, the National Philharmonic, the International Center for Arts and Culture, Children art gallery and children's schools. Multifaceted life in Pechersk district is marked by certain features, including regional festivals celebrating every few years. To revive the historical past and importance of fountains in the life of the Ukrainian capital, Kiev architects working on the project a unique residential complex "Boulevard of Fountains". It will be really cozy restaurants, cafes, gazebo and courtyards. Each guest from Kiev or tourist will be able to forget about the city fuss and under the shade of trees enjoy the music of water in the fountains.
The first of the most famous buildings of Pechersk district was founded in 1051 by monks Anthony and Theodosius. In Berestova Caves Monastery was founded, which later evolved in the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra. The end of the seventeenth century was distinguished by the fact that the area was a real administrative center of contemporary Kyiv. At this time, Hetman Samoylovych constructed earthen fortress. A little later, due to Ivan Mazepa appears defensive wall with towers and churches around the Lavra. Zaporizhia Army Colonels by numerous donations succeed to decorate and build Vydubytsky, St. Nicholas, St. Michael's Cave monasteries. They developed Ukrainian national culture through Lavra schools, typography and icon-painting workshop. In the eighteenth century there appears Klovskiy and Imperial (Mariinsky) palaces, gates and gunpowder cellar (Arsenal), home governors-general, improved Pechersk fortress. Masonry, of which were put green clay for brick firing, were the first industrial plants in the area. In 1934 begins a new rise of Pechersk district, connected with the transfer to the Ukrainian capital Kyiv. At this time built Parliament House, where today is the Cabinet, the Dnieper embankment, "Dynamo" stadium, a lot of houses, schools, kindergartens, clubs.
1964 marked the opening of the Central Botanical Garden of the wonderful arboretum and purple garden. In the 1980s, was opened Memorial entitled "Ukrainian State Museum of the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945." Monument in honor of the founding Kyiv was established on the bank of the Dnieper, and added Klovskiy Palace Museum of History of Kyiv.
by Ostap Ukrainetz